Ohio State University Extension https://fcs.osu.edu

Family and Consumer Sciences

Ohio State University Extension

Practical Stress Reduction Strategies

Mindful Wellness -- Practical Stress Reduction Strategies

Problem

The American Psychological Association has reported that the United States is “on the verge of a stress induced public health crisis”. We all have stress. Stress, and its debilitating physiological impact, is an issue costing America billions of dollars, both on an individual and societal level. People who practice mindfulness are better able to manage stress and cope with illness, anxiety, and depression.

Mindfulness

Jon Kabat-Zinn is recognized as the Father of Western Mindfulness as he has researched the effect of mindfulness meditation on chronic pain patients at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center for decades. He created a stress reduction program called Mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR). In his book, Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness, he defines mindfulness. "Mindfulness means paying attention in a particular way: On purpose, in the present moment, and nonjudgmentally."

Where to find Family and Consumer Sciences mindful educators:

Shannon Carter
carter.413@osu.edu
Fairfield County (Lancaster)

Patricia Holmes
holmes.86@osu.edu
Montgomery County (Dayton)

Marie Economos
economos.2@osu.edu
Trumbull County (Cortland)

Christine Kendle
kendle.4@osu.edu
Tuscarawus County (New Philadelphia)

Kathryn Green
green.1405@osu.edu
Clark County (Springfield)

Patrice Powers-Barker
powers-barker.1@osu.edu
Lucas County (Toledo)

Melinda Hill
hill.14@osu.edu
Wayne County (Wooster)

Terri Worthington
author, retired 2017
Geauga County (Burton)