Homebuyer Education

Homebuyer Education

Based on the Homebuyer's Guide, workshops are designed to equip buyers with the tools and knowledge needed to succeed at both home purchasing and home ownership.

A concise, current publication, the Homebuyer's Guide is based on the National Industry Standards for Homebuyer Education and includes chapters on assessing home readiness, money for housing, making an offer on a home, selecting a mortgage, closing the deal and defining success as a homeowner.

The following services are offered, as approved by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

  • Financial Management/Budget Counseling
  • Financial, Budgeting, and Credit Workshops
  • Pre-purchase Counseling
  • Pre-purchase Homebuyer Education Workshops

The table below lists HUD approved housing counseling locations and OSU Extension educators. Additionally, this list is part of the federal HUD website.

County Location Contact Information
Butler Butler County Extension Office
1802 Princeton Rd.
Hamilton, OH 45011

Heather Reister
reister.6@osu.edu
513 785-6653

Clermont

Clermont County Extension Office
1000 Locust St.
Owensville, OH 45160

Margaret Jenkins
jenkins.188@osu.edu
513-732-7070

Cuyahoga

Cuyahoga County Extension Office
5320 Stanard Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44103

Amanda Osborne
osborne.414@osu.edu
216-429-8200 ext. 242

Erie Erie County Extension Office
2900 Columbus Ave.
Sandusky, OH 44870

Donna Green
green.308@osu.edu
419-627-7631

Franklin Franklin County Extension Office
99 E. Ninth Ave.
Columbus, OH 43201

Susan Colbert
colbert.22@osu.edu
614-297-3861

Green

Green County Extension Office
100 Fairground Rd.
Xenia, OH 45385

Melanie Hart
hart.382@osu.edu
937-372-9971 ext. 112
Hardin Hardin County Extension Office
1021 W. Lima St., Suite 103, Kenton, OH 43326
Jami Dellifield
dellifield.2@osu.edu
419-674-2297
Lucas Lucas County Extension Office
One Government Center
Suite 550
Toledo, OH 43604
Patrice Powers-Barker
powers-barker.1@osu.edu
419-213-2022
Mahoning

Mahoning County Extension Office
490 S Broad St.
Canfield, OH 44406

Beth Stefura
stefura.2@osu.edu
330-553-5538

Marion

Marion County Extension Office
222 W Center St.
Marion, OH 43302

Whitney Gherman
gherman.12@osu.edu
740-223-4040
Wayne Wayne County Extension Office
428 W. Liberty St., Suite 12
Wooster, OH 44691
Melinda Hill
hill.14@osu.edu
330-263-7696
State Office 342 Campbeill Hall
1787 Neil Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210

Cäzilia Loibl
loibl.3@osu.edu
614-292-4226