CFAES Give Today
Family and Consumer Sciences

Ohio State University Extension


OSU Extension Recognized by National Award in Environmental Education

Oct. 10, 2022

NEAFCS award recipients from FCS

The National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (NEAFCS) recognized Ohio State University (OSU) Extension professionals with a national award in Environmental Education. As environmental education is a major Extension program focus nationally, the Environmental Education Award recognizes NEAFCS members for outstanding educational programs conducted for families and/or communities on various environmental issues/concerns.

Waste and plastic pollution have become more of a concern to Ohioans. In response, OSU Extension developed a suite of evidence-based resources that serve to support Ohioans looking to reduce their environmental impact in their daily lives.

The materials, developed by OSU Extension, are designed to: 1) educate adults and youth about food waste and plastic pollution; 2) help adults and youth identify small behavior changes that can be sustained as eventual habits; and 3.) equip educators with training, tools, and resources to accomplish these goals. These materials include tip sheets, a 3-D virtual home tour, a sustainable meeting guide, a 4-H idea starter and a series of short videos. The materials target consumers who are seeking more information about how to make informed decisions about how to implement sustainability practices into their daily lives.

2022 NEAFCS Ohio Affiliate Award Recipients

1st Place National and Central Region – Environmental Education Award. Team – Dan Remley (South Centers), Courtney Warman (state office), Candace Heer (Morrow County), Alisha Barton (Miami County), Laura Stanton (Warren County), Amy Meehan (state office), Jill Bartolotta (Ohio Sea Grant), Lindsey Grimm (Solid Waste district, Morrow County), Jon Gladden (state office), Andrew Holden (Ashtabula County), Susan Zies (Wood County), Marie Economos (Trumbull County), Brian Roe (state office), Audrey Dimmerling (Columbiana County), Beth Bollas (Lake County), Myra Moss (state office), Richard Wofford (state office), Anna Adams (South Centers), Sarah Swanson (South Centers); Sustainability Tools and Resources

OSU Extension would like to acknowledge and thank Lindsey Grimm of Morrow County for her partnership and support as an external collaborator on these materials. 

To learn more about these innovative resources, visit

For questions regarding OSU Extension sustainability, contact Dan Remley at