Dining with Diabetes

Dining with Diabetes

Shari Gallup teaches Dining with DiabetesDining with Diabetes is a series of three classes conducted by Ohio State University Extension Family and Consumer Sciences and community health partners.

The program includes:

  • Live cooking demonstrations
  • Menu planning
  • Diabetes management
  • Carbohydrate-counting
  • Insights on portion control
  • Label-reading
  • Healthy recipe taste-testing

Diabetes costs Ohio $4.6 billion annually. According to 2015 state of Ohio data, more than 11.7% of Ohio adults have been diagnosed with diabetes — an increase of almost 37% since 2000. If these trends continue, 1 in 3 Ohioans will develop diabetes sometime in their lifetime. Those with diabetes lose an average of 10–15 years of potential life and can develop serious complications such as cardiovascular disease, blindness, kidney failure and non-traumatic lower extremity amputations.

Nutrition is the cornerstone of diabetes management, and Dining with Diabetes helps Ohioans manage their own or that of a family member’s diabetes through nutrition education. Participants learn to prepare healthy, well-balanced meals without compromising taste.

Dining with Diabetes: Beyond the Kitchen

County Directory

County FCS Educator Email Phone
Auglaize Barb Hennard hennard.1@osu.edu 419-586-2179
Carroll Cheryl Mickley mickley.19@osu.edu 330-627-4310
Clark Kathy Green green.1405@osu.edu 937-521-3860
Clermont Margaret Jenkins jenkins.188@osu.edu 513-732-7070
Cuyahoga LesleyAnne Roddy roddy.55@osu.edu 216-429-8200
Darke Diane Barga barga.8@osu.edu 937-548-5215
Erie Donna Green green.308@osu.edu 419-627-7631
Fairfield Shannon Carter carter.413@osu.edu 740-653-5419
Fayette Pat Brinkman brinkman.93@osu.edu 740-335-1150
Greene Melanie Hart hart.382@osu.edu 937-372-9971
Hardin Jami Dellifield dellifield.2@osu.edu 419-674-2297
Harrison Joseph Maiorano maiorano.2@osu.edu 740-942-8823
Holmes Kate Shumaker shumaker.68@osu.edu 330-674-3015
Licking Shari Gallup gallup.1@osu.edu 740-670-5319
Mahoning Beth Stefura stefura.2@osu.edu 330-533-5538
Mercer Barb Hennard hennard.1@osu.edu 419-586-2179
Montgomery Pat Holmes holmes.86@osu.edu 937-224-9654x102
Morrow Candace Heer heer.7@osu.edu 419-947-1070
Ottawa Katie LaPlant laplant.8@osu.edu 419-898-3631
Pickaway Michelle Treber treber.1@osu.edu 740-474-7534
Pike Tammy Jones jones.5640@osu.edu 740-289-4837
Ross Lisa Barlage barlage.7@osu.edu 740-702-3200
Sandusky Katie LaPlant laplant.8@osu.edu 419-898-3631
Scioto Treva Williams williams.973@osu.edu 740-354-7879
Trumbull Marie Economos economos.2@osu.edu 330-638-6783
Tuscarawas Chris Kendle kendle.4@osu.edu 330-339-2337
Vinton Kate Homonai homonai.3@osu.edu 740-596-5212
Washington Amanda Bohlen bohlen.19@osu.edu 740-376-7431
Wood Susan Zies zies.1@osu.edu 419-354-9050
State Contact Dan Remley remley.4@osu.edu 740-289-2071
Dining with Diabetes Classes Being Offered Around the State
Dates County Contact Email
April 4, 13, 20 & 25, 2017 Summer Reunion: TBD Licking Shari Gallup gallup.1@osu.edu
October 5, 12, 19 & 26, 2017 Holiday Reunion: TBD Licking Shari Gallup gallup.1@osu.edu